John Gurdon (Cambridge, UK)

Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine







We invite you to participate to the first European Amphibian Club to be held 28th-30th June 2017, in Rennes France.

Amphibians constitute a group of organisms commonly used in research fields including those related with human health and with ecological risk assessment. Recent technological innovations including advances in genomics and in the Crispr/Cas9 technology renewed the value of amphibians as key organisms for both conceptual and medical advances in genetic and developmental diseases.

In bringing together scientists in developmental biology, cell biology including stem cell biology, immunology, genomics, control of gene expression, neurobiology and ecotoxicology, we seek to promote networking and collaborative interactions, and spread valuable knowledge and technological advances in amphibian research. We aim to define strategic resources to be developed, identify European opportunities for funding and collaborations and collectively establish priorities for the community. While Xenopus tropicalis and Xenopus laevis will be the major organisms, contributions and attendance of specialists of other amphibian models are expected.

The scientific commitee will take special attention to abstracts presented by PhD student, post-doctorates and young researchers and promote their participation.

key dates

Abstract deadline : 15th may 2017

Early bird registration : 31st March 2017

Registration deadline : 31st May 2017


Confirmed Speakers

Eric Bellefroid (Charleroi BE)

Annette Borchers (Marburg DE)

Monica Bullejos (Jaen SP)

Laurent Coen (Paris FR)

Mike Gilchrist (London UK)

Thomas Holleman (Halle DE)

Soeren Lienkamp (Freiburg DE)

Roberto Mayor (London UK)

Christof Niehrs (Mainz DE)

Manuel Ortiz-Santaliestra (Ciudad Real SP)

Muriel Perron (Saclay FR)

Bruno Reversade (Singapore)

Laurent Sachs (Paris FR)

Colin Sharpe (Porsmouth UK)

Gert Veenstra (Nijmegen NL)

Grant N. Wheeler (Norwich UK)

Aaron Zorn (Cincinnati US)


Scientific committee

Béatrice Durand, Orsay, France

Isabel Lopes, Aveiro,Portugal

Karine Massé, Bordeaux, France

Luc Paillard, Rennes, France

Thomas Pieler, Gottingen, Germany

Gert Veenstra, Nijmegen, Netherland

Kris Vleminckx, Gent, Belgium


Organizing committee

Yann audic, IGDR, Rennes

Béatrice Durand, Institut Curie, France

Nadine Gattet, IGDR, France

Christophe Héligon, CRB-Xénope, France

Marion Laillé, IGDR, France

Luc Paillard, IGDR, France

Jean-Pierre Tassan, IGDR, France



Online user: 1